Concert Calendar

« Back to Concerts

Tchaikovsky's Symphony No. 5

Select a venue
    • Starting price at
    • Ferguson Center for the Arts

      1 University Pl

      Newport News, VA 23606 Get directions

      Phone: Newport News

    • Buy Tickets
JoAnn Falletta, conductor

David Daniels, countertenor

Michael Daniels, cello


Griffes: Pleasure Dome of Kubla Khan

Kenneth Fuchs: Poems of Life

Tchaikovsky: Symphony No. 5


Well known to VSO audiences, composer Kenneth Fuchs brings us a world premiere. This is a continuation of more than 30 years of collaboration between Kenneth Fuchs and Music Director JoAnn Falletta, which began in 1985 when they were students at Juilliard. Written specifically for VSO Principal Cello Michael Daniels and his brother David, this new work is based on the poems of Judith Wolf, a well-known artist and writer. The performance concludes with Tchaikovsky’s majestic Fifth Symphony.

Tchaikovsky's Symphony No. 5